learning type, interactivity and personalisation

what kind of learning type am I?

To answer this question we did an online test in last weeks tutorial. Here is the link http://www.engr.ncsu.edu/learningstyles/ilsweb.html

These were my results:

ACT X REF

11 9 7 5 3 1 1 3 5 7 9 11

<– –>

 

SEN X INT

11 9 7 5 3 1 1 3 5 7 9 11

<– –>

 

VIS X VRB

11 9 7 5 3 1 1 3 5 7 9 11

<– –>

 

SEQ X GLO

11 9 7 5 3 1 1 3 5 7 9 11

<– –>

ACTIVE AND REFLECTIVE LEARNERS 5 Reflective

Reflective learners prefer to think about it quietly first. That applies for me.

“Let’s try it out and see how it works” is an active learner’s phrase. I can agree with that

“Let’s think it through first” is the reflective learner’s response. It depends on how difficult the task is. When it is an easy task, I don’t think long.

Active learners tend to like group work more than reflective learners, who prefer working alone. I can agree to that.

SENSING AND INTUITIVE LEARNERS 7 Sensing

Sensing learners tend to like learning facts. yes, kind of,

intuitive learners often prefer discovering possibilities and relationships. I also like that.

Sensors often like solving problems by well-established methods and dislike complications and surprises. yes, definitely;

Sensors tend to be patient with details and good at memorizing facts and doing hands-on (laboratory) work. Yes, that applies for me.

Intuitors may be better at grasping new concepts and are often more comfortable than sensors with abstractions and mathematical formulations. I’m not good at maths, so that’s possibly right for me.

Sensors tend to be more practical and careful than intuitors; Applies for me.

intuitors tend to work faster and to be more innovative than sensors. I also can work fast.

Sensors don’t like courses that have no apparent connection to the real world. yes;

VISUAL AND VERBAL LEARNERS 3 verbal

Verbal learners get more out of words–written and spoken explanations. Everyone learns more when information is presented both visually and verbally. That applies for me

SEQUENTIAL AND GLOBAL LEARNERS 1 global

  • Sequential learners tend to gain understanding in linear steps, with each step following logically from the previous one. Global learners tend to learn in large jumps, absorbing material almost randomly without seeing connections, and then suddenly “getting it.” Both, I like learning in steps, because then everything is clear and understandable. Jumping from one point to another can lead to chaos.
  • Sequential learners tend to follow logical stepwise paths in finding solutions; global learners may be able to solve complex problems quickly or put things together in novel ways once they have grasped the big picture, but they may have difficulty explaining how they did it. Yes, I can solve complex problems quickly, because I leave out several steps, which are not necessary for my understanding

All in all I can say, that I am both a reflective and active learner, but sensing and more a verbal than a visual learner. And I am both a sequential and global learner.

interactivity and personalisation –  1) How/Why would I personalise my language learning?

2) How personal do I want my language learning to be?

3) What are the advantages/disadvantages of personalising?

in last weeks tutorial we also dealt with interactivity and personalisation. For that purpose we had to find assessment activities for language learning online and try to identify which learning style they catered for. I found an interactive website for writing a film review, which was really good for sequential learners, because all the important points were listed one afte the other. I actually use this website for writing my film review for another module, but the result was not too good, so I had to rewrite it.

1) I would personalise my language learning only to a certain extend, because for most parts general learning assignments are helpful enough.  I take learning Dutch as an example. I started learning it in school and took it for my last three years in school, then I started studying it at university, where I am now in my third year and have finished all my Dutch classes. When learning Dutch on my own (which will be the case from now on) I would focus on the articles, spelling and vocabulary, because I still struggle a bit with these points. That would eb a point when personalisation would come in for me. I would look for online tools helping me with these things.

2) I would want to do tasks on aspects I still struggle with. That’s it. I wouldn’t want any more personalisation.

3) An advantage of personalisation would be that you can focus on the things you really have to practise. On the other hand, especially as a beginner you could loose yourself in tasks and don’t make any progress when you don’t have a teacher to help.

 

Leave a Reply

